Skip to main content



  1. Home >
  2. Awards>
  3. Open Grid Forum Leadership Award

Open Grid Forum (OGF) Leadership Award

May 7, 2007

OGF Leadership Award

Dr. Andreas Savva (right) with award co-recipient Dr. Steve McGough (left)

Dr. Andreas Savva of Fujitsu Laboratories Ltd. received the Open Grid Forum (OGF) Leadership Award as one of the co-chairs of the OGF Job Submission Description Language Working Group (JSDL-WG). The award was presented to the JSDL-WG by Mark Linesch, the OGF president, at OGF20 held in May 2007 in Manchester, UK.

The OGF is a community of users, developers, and vendors leading the global standardization effort for grid computing. The OGF community consists of thousands of individuals in industry and research, representing over 400 organizations in more than 50 countries.

The OGF Leadership award is presented to individuals and groups who have displayed excellence in volunteer leadership within the community or have made significant contributions to the OGF mission of pervasive adoption of grid technology. The awards are selected by the OGF Management Committee based on open nominations from the community at large. The award was established in 2005 and is given approximately once a year. The first prize winner was Dr. Hiro Kishimoto of Fujitsu Laboratories Ltd.

The JSDL-WG published last year the JSDL 1.0 specification, the world's first standard language for describing job submission requirements. The specification has been implemented and used by more than 30 companies or projects around the world, and has contributed greatly to grid computing adoption. The specification co-authors also include Michel Drescher, Researcher at Fujitsu Laboratories of Europe Ltd.

Fujitsu will continue contributing to standardization activities while offering innovative software products conforming to international standards, thereby contributing to the development of the Information Society.

Award Winner

Dr. Andreas Savva, Researcher (Fujitsu Laboratories Ltd.)

Joint Award Winners
Dr. Steve McGough (Imperial College)
Darren Pulsipher (EMC)

Related Links