Skip to main content

Fujitsu

United States

  1. Home >
  2. Services & Products >
  3. Computing Products >
  4. Peripherals >
  5. Scanners >
  6. News & Reviews ScanSnap Reviews

 Imaging |  ScanSnap Reviews |  ScanSnap Reviews Archive |


ScanSnap - Product Reviews

ScanSnap S1500M/S510M

"Desktop Scanner Wrap-Up (Scanner Series Part 2 of 3)"
TheMacFeed – 5/27/10
“The Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500M is the best performing ADF scanner I have ever handled. It’s extremely fast – In real world “set it and forget it” usage, I managed to achieve an average of 19 pages per minute in standard quality scanning.”

"Best Digital Tools for the Paperless Tax Return"
Fast Company – 4/9/2010
"I really like the Fujitsu ScanSnap, a one-touch paper-to-PDF converter that's actually fun to use."

"Fujitsu ScanSnap is a Snap"
CPA Technology Advisor – 3/9/10
"I’m sold on this. Now if I can just break away from scanning everything in the office, I can get back to work."

"Fast, Excellent Document Scanner: Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500M"
Boing Boing – 3/4/10
"I set a stack of 17 two-sided documents into the sheet feeder, pressed the blue illuminated “Scan” button and the ScanSnap 1500M whipped through them in 50 seconds."

"Review: ScanSnap S1300 Portable Scanner"
CrunchGear – 3/8/10
"For quick jobs as well as spreadsheet and document storage this portable scanner did a more than adequate job."

"ScanSnap S1500M"
Nerd of God – September 18, 2009
"When push comes to shove, or in this case scan, Fujitsu's ScanSnap S1500M is a winner. It's a beautifully designed, compact piece of hardware that just plain works, and does its job quickly and with little fuss. If you do a moderate amount of scanning or wish to start the process of reducing the paper deluge in your life, you can't do better than the ScanSnap S1500M. It's an excellent addition to any home or office."

"Make The Paperless Office A Reality"
MacLife - March 5, 2008
"The ScanSnap S510M is the latest in a line of blazingly fast sheet scanners that specialize in printed paper. A stack of text pages from a report, pamphlets, flyers, forms, and more—if it’s printed, chances are the S510M can scan it….The bottom line. Attack that mountain of documents with the S510M. It’ll put you one step closer to the paperless office."

"Review: Fujitsu ScanSnap S510M"
MacNN - February 5, 2008
"Too Good To Leave Behind - I was highly tempted to pack this scanner in my suitcase and take it with me on my last trip. I was willing to do this knowing that it weighs 6 pounds, and knowing the space that it takes up. It is just that great of a scanner. It’s fast, it’s good, and it is very useful. Although you can purchase a carry bag separately from the site, a portable model is a better solution. Just such a beast is in the works and when it is available, you can be sure I will let you know how that works too. In the meantime, the ScanSnap S510M does everything it sets out to do. It works. It works well."

"Palimpsest: the guide to a (mostly) paperless life"
43Folders - November 6, 2007
"The first and perhaps most important aspect of my paperless workflow is my trusty Fujitsu ScanSnap. I have been using my S500M (that's the Mac version) for a few months now and have praised it in the past. I also just recently got a demo model (full disclosure here) from Fujitsu of the rockin' awesome S510M [Amazon, Info.] I never thought I could get excited about something so traditionally mundane as scanner before, but I really, really love this device. In fact, the ScanSnap is probably my favorite piece of consumer electronics not made by Apple."

"The real paperless office"
MacWorld - October 9, 2007
"Fujitsu'sScanSnap is my tool of choice (and the one for which I’ll provide specific instructions below). It’s speedy (it can scan up to 18 pages per minute), it can scan both sides of the page at once, it automatically detects page size and type (color or black and white), and it includes a copy of Adobe Acrobat Standard."

ScanSnap S1500/S510

"ScanSnap S1500 Review”
Jeff Krause's Practice Management Blog – September 17, 2009
"Overall, the ScanSnap S1500 continues the traditions established by its predecessors – speed, accuracy, ease of use, loads of features, and great bundled software. It is an integral part of my own office and a tool I recommend to all of my clients."

"Scanners For All: Fujitsu Makes PDF Scanning a Snap”
Truly Obscure – September 16, 2009
"...the ScanSnap S1500 is the best all-around scanner we’ve used, and offers hassle-free performance, changing the way we scan."

"Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500"
PCMag.com – August 18, 2009
"Starting with the first version of Fujitsu's ScanSnap scanner that I reviewed—the ScanSnap fi-5110EOX, in 2004—Fujitsu has done a great job of turning out one impressive model after another, ratcheting up the performance and features over the years. The ScanSnap S1500 ($495 direct, which includes a one year warranty) fits firmly in that tradition, with faster speed and much improved software than the previous-generation S500. I can even make a strong argument that it's the best desktop document scanner in its price class."

"Paper, Paper, Everywhere, Nor Any Piece to Trash"
Lifehacker – August 5, 2009
“When you get serious about scanning as a way to reduce retained paper, the Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500 provides great performance as the first step into the world of document management. Don't think of “document management” as much more than intelligent use and storage of the paper you're trying to avoid, and the process will go much more smoothly.”

"The Complete Guide to Going Paperless"
Lifehacker – August 5, 2009
"I'm still loving my Fujitsu ScanSnap, a portable document scanner that I bust out for contracts, legal agreements, and other already-in-paper-form documents.”

"Scanning and Organizing Made Easy"
PC Quarterly - April 15, 2008
"Hang on, that’s only the beginning. With the push of a single button this well designed scanner can save your documents to searchable pdf files or import them directly into Microsoft Word and allow you to edit them even though you only scanned a printed document. The package includes a copy of Adobe Acrobat 8.0 standard (a $299.00 value). In addition, the included ABBYY FineReader® optical recognition software (OCR) makes simple work of converting text from scanned images into editable documents as well as Microsoft Excel and Powerpoint files. It even has an option to recognize and automatically delete blank pages."

S1300

"Smart Tools for a Paperless Home"
U.S. News & World Report – 5/19/10
“The Fujitsu ScanSnap S1300 will quickly eat its way through a pile of documents at home or on the road.”

"The ScanSnap S1300: A Saviour from Paper Piles?"
Mark Evans Tech – 5/9/10
"For the home office and road warrior, it has to be one of the best options on the market."

"Fujitsu ScanSnap S1300 Makes Document Scanning a Snap"
The Mac Observer – 5/7/10
"The ScanSnap S1300 is definitely a welcome addition to my office. The portability makes it a great option for traveling business users, since it’s lightweight and compact."

"The Mobile Mac Office – Part I: Going Paperless"
The Apple Press– 5/4/10
"The scanner’s best feature, however, is its incredible speed and reliability...It’s this effortless scanning experience that will keep you motivated to continuously digitize your paperwork."

"Fujitsu’s New ScanSnap Portable Scanner"
San Diego Daily Transcript – 4/26/10
"The Fujitsu is a workhorse that will allow you to reduce much of your paper clutter, get organized, and archive important papers. It's simply the best portable scanner available and a very good buy."

"Review: Fujitsu ScanSnap S1300 Mobile Scanner"
ThinkMac – 4/25/10
"Fujitsu's ScanSnap S1300 is a perfect companion to the road warrior or the guy/gal with a small office at home. It's an incredibly smart scanner and the software is some of the easiest I have used. Highly Recommended!"

"Fujitsu ScanSnap S1300 Color Image Scanner"
MyMac Magazine – 4/7/10
"The ScanSnap S1300 is perfect for everyone at any stage of life, from the college student who wants his class handouts easily accessible and all in one place, to the road warrior who has an endless accumulation of receipts and business cards, to the harried homeowner preparing for taxes. Who knew scanning could actually be fun?"

"How Long Should I Keep Financial Documents"
Bargaineering – 3/24/10
"We recently purchased a sheet-fed scanner, the Fujitsu ScanSnap S300, to help organize our financial records and this purchase is easily one of the top ten I’ve made in my adult life."

"Fujitsu ScanSnap S1300 – Review"
GearDiary – 3/20/10
"Ever since my first Fujitsu scanner I have sworn by the company’s scanning products. After using the S1300 that perspective has only been further reinforced. If you are in the market for a high-speed scanner this is one that you definitely should look at."

"MacWorld Recap - Part 1"
CuteGeek – 2/17/10
"These little scanners from Fujitsu actually may have solved one of my biggest pet peeves of scanning; the crooked scan. As I watched the demo I was amazed; you can put the page or receipts in the scanner at any direction and it auto formats it to the correct page setup (landscape or portrait) and makes it completely straight."

"Fujitsu ScanSnap S1300 Portable Scanner"
Gadizmo – 2/12/10
"If you want to stay away from the back strain, and clear up some space for your other needs then you may want to consider getting your hands onto the Fujitsu ScanSnap S3100 Portable Scanner. It can give you what you need without all of the waste. This thing is small enough to fit into a briefcase."

"Fujitsu ScanSnap S1300 Hits the Streets: An Impressively Powerful Portable Scanner"
CrunchGear – 2/10/10
"Fujitsu hopes to tempt you with some of its delicious ScanSnap S1300 features including direct to PDF scanning as well as scanning directly into Excel spreadsheets."

"Fujitsu Intros Tiny Cross-Platform Scanner, ScanSnap S1300 "
Maximum PC – 2/10/10
"If you got a jones-ing for portable scanning, Fujitsu has got just the thing: the ScanSnap S1300 Mobile Scanner. This compact and lightweight device has a long list of features and, best of all, is designed to be used on-the-go."

"Fujitsu ScanSnap S1300: Portable Duplex Scanner"
jkOnTheRun – 2/10/10
"It can be a struggle to bring some gadgets along because they are too big and heavy to lug around on trips. Fujitsu understands that dilemma and has released a portable scanner that can come along for the ride with minimal fuss. The ScanSnap S1300 is not the first scanner to shrink in size but it may be the most versatile of all portable scanners that came before."

"Fujitsu Releases New ScanSnap S1300 Scanner"
About.com – 2/10/10
"It makes a good business tool for those on the road; business cards from around the world posed no problem to this little scanner. I found it to be fast and very accurate"

S300

"Liberating yourself from paper"
GTD Times – August 6, 2009
"The scanner is brilliant. You simply put in a stack of papers, double sided is fine, and push the button on the scanner. The pages whiz through the scanner and in no time a window on my Mac asks me what to do with the image."

"ScanSnap Takes You Paperless in One Step"
Lifehacker – 4/8/10
"In a nutshell, though, not only can the ScanSnap help you quickly eliminate the physical paper trail in your office, but it can also turn all that paper into searchable PDFs—which, at the end of the day, is a heck of a lot more convenient than your regular old file cabinet."

"The Ultimate Home Office: Bring on the Bling"
CIO.com – 2/19/10
"One of the best you can buy is the Fujitsu ScanSnap S300."

"Fujitsu ScanSnap S300 Review"
Notebooks.com - March 7, 2008
"I have used all kinds of scanners going back (not to age myself) to the days of the HP 4C Flatbed scanner and being amazed with its results. My one gripe back in those days of iron men and wooden ships…..ok maybe not that far back, was that after I placed my document PERFECTLY on the scanner bed and pushing the scan button I could almost watch an entire episode of Gilligan’s Island before my scan was done. But scanning has come a long ways since then and the ScanSnap 300 is a shining example of a device that can help notebook users get more done wherever they are."

"Hands-on: Fujitsu ScanSnap S300 Mobile Scanner"
CrunchGear- October 29, 2007
"How does one make the world’s smallest color ADF scanner sexy? Well, you really can’t so I’m not going to try, but I did get a look at the Fujitsu ScanSnap S300 mobile scanner last week and it was pretty cool. It weighs about 3.1lbs and it may not be the tiniest device ever made, but it does a damn good job and makes scanning and storing files very easy. The ScanSnap’s ease of use reminded me of those late night infomercials for that rotisserie cooker where the motto was ‘set it and forget it’."

"REVIEW: Fujitsu ScanSnap S300 Portable PDF Scanner "
Mobile Magazine - November 21, 2007
"Overall, the Fujitsu ScanSnap S300 Portable PDF Scanner is a fantastic product backed up by a very trustworthy name in the business sector. The construction is rock solid and the software is an absolute breeze to use. It's nice having such a powerful scanner in such a portable package and it's also handy that it can scan both sides of your document at the same time."

"Review: Fujitsu ScanSnap S300 Scans And Delivers"
Wired - January 24, 2008
"Fujitsu's ScanSnap S300 is the cutest, most minimalist sheetfed scanner ever. It's so perfectly tiny and well-proportioned that the snaking USB cable actually made me feel nervous and uncomfortable. Shouldn't it use Bluetooth, or something?"

S300M

"ScanSnap S300M: The magic continues"
MacObserver - March 28, 2008
"You owe it to yourself to try out one or both of these marvels. For me, they have turned the otherwise tedious task of scanning into something that is close to fun. I find myself trying to think of new things to scan, just so I can use the ScanSnap more often. If Apple made a document scanner, this is what it would look like. I can’t think of a much higher compliment than that."

"Fujitsu intros compact ScanSnap business scanner"
MacWorld - January 14, 2008

"Fujitsu Introduces Mobile Scanner"
Inc. Magazine - March 18, 2008